CHRISTMAAAAAAAS!

Christmas is a-coming and it’s time to dust off those albums hiding in the shelves.

Here is a sleigh load of music that I am listening to this month!

Enjoy and Ho! Ho! Hoooooooo!

My sister introduced me to this song when she joined a choir. It gets stuck in my head all year round.

When the first snow falls, my family always reaches for this song. It totally captures the excitement of a wintry Christmas.

Ok… so maybe it isn’t exactly Christmas music, but you can never convince me otherwise. Pile into a car, turn up the volume and let your hands catch snowflakes from the open windows! Cozy as a cashmere sweater and delectable as hot chocolate – Italian style. Enjoy another cup of K-Pop.

Ella Fitzgerald. Christmas Album. Enough said. 😉

Arguably, the greatest modern Christmas hit of all time- get out your fine-tooth comb and aftershave, and get ready to scream!

Joy to the World!!!!! From “A Claymation Christmas”

Although Mariah Carey pretty much embodies the whole sensation of summer, she equally captures the wonders of Christmas with those gorgeous vocals of hers. Still one of my favorites.

Sia’s Christmas Album is absolutely stunning. Such a gorgeous voice!

Ukranian Bell Carol (or Carole of the Bells)

My favorite cover of this song. Wham’s “Last Christmas” entirely acoustic by Sungha Jung.

This piece is moving, sentimental and breathtaking. I often play this song on repeat, I love Ryuichi Nakamoto’s artistry so much.

Another song from the Christmas Special “A Claymation Christmas.” The California Raisins (aka Temptations) cover “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. THE best version EVER!

One of the best aspects of the holidays is getting together with family and dancing, dancing, dancing! Thank you Stevie Wonder!

Did I say dance??? Heheh! Sorry, if you haven’t figured it out by now, I am both a K-pop and Zumba freak fanatic! I love this song, and I love these moves! Yes, yes… it is exercise. Stop being a Grinch and try it out. Give it a try and I dare you not to smile while you do. 😉

In my opinion, no Christmas is complete without some Celtic thrown in there.

My personal favorite version of Charles Dickens’ classic “A Christmas Carol.” Here is the scene with the ghost of Christmas Present.

I realized that I had a ton of exuberant songs in a row, so here is one to keep things a little more balanced. No, this is not a traditional Christmas song. Ok, fine- this is not a Christmas song! It is on my playlist, however. Who couldn’t use a little J-drama over the holidays? This is from the Japanese live drama, based on the manga “Hana Yori Dango.”

This song is named after the protagonist and heroine of the story, “Tsukushi” composed by Yamashita Kosuke.

This next song is “Pie Jesu” written by the composer Andrew Lloyd Webber, starring Charlotte Church and… Willem (?).

So brief and so beautiful! Simply meant to be.

And we are back to Mariah Carey- she is just that good!

It contains electronic pianos and synthesizers, yet it lives on! Paul McCartney’s Wonderful Christmas Time.

Good King Wenceslas is still one of my favorite Christmas Carols… which is strange since I still don’t know the words! Somehow, The Irish Rovers don’t really help me either…..

This film was so terrible!!! So, why do I keep watching it over and over again? I would blame it on Howard Keel (man, I LOVE his voice!), but he isn’t even featured in this song.

How on EARTH did I ever miss this song? I know that I live out in the boonies, but seriously…. how did I miss this?! I just discovered this song last week, and I am so glad that I stumbled upon it. This song features Gayla Peevey at age ten (she is so confident for ten!!!), and later at age 73. This video is adorable and one that is sure to get stuck on repeat in those pesky portions of the brain that memorizes bubble gum commercials and a certain Rihanna song……

Another one of my favorite Christmas hymns, O Come O Come Emmanuel (Veni, Veni Emmanuel)

  1. O come, O come, Immanuel,
    and ransom captive Israel
    that mourns in lonely exile here
    until the Son of God appear.

Refrain:
Rejoice! Rejoice! Immanuel
shall come to you, O Israel.

   2.  O come, O Wisdom from on high,
who ordered all things mightily;
to us the path of knowledge show
and teach us in its ways to go. Refrain

  6.  O come, O Bright and Morning Star,
and bring us comfort from afar!
Dispel the shadows of the night
and turn our darkness into light. Refrain

  7. O come, O King of nations, bind
in one the hearts of all mankind.
Bid all our sad divisions cease
and be yourself our King of Peace

The film “Quest for Camelot” could have been a LOT better, but I will forever be grateful for the soundtrack. Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli is a classic.

Danny Elfman’s scores are just so beautiful! Here is “Ice Dance.”

Well, I think that this is a good start for now. I will be sure to continue add more of my favorite Christmas songs. Please recommend me some of your absolute favorites! Who knows? That Hippopotamus song was out there all along, and yet I missed it!

Merry Christmas to all! And to all a goodnight!

Please Leave a Comment...